About Me

Welcome! πŸ™‚ I’m Kim, actually, it’s Kimberley but I prefer to be called Kim. I also go by Kimmy, Kimbo, Gizmo and Chimmy or Chimmykins; the latter two being the inspiration for my blog’s name “Chimmyville”. A combination of my nickname and the French word ‘Ville’ meaning town or place.

Chimmyville: Ma petite ville sur le web

Chimmyville has been around in some form since 11th August 2005, starting as a place to store my pixel creations and creative writing and developing into the lifestyle blog you see today.

Here I write about my life, travels, convention experiences (mainly sci-fi or film conventions), share recipes (I LOVE to bake) and dabble in DIY, restoration, and re-upholstery projects.

One of my favourite gingerbread houses I made

I live with my parents in a small village in The Cotswolds (Gloucestershire, England). Along with our fish (Biggie, Nemo, Sharkie, Darth, and Kylo), and our weather loach (Loachy). I’ve also had a tarantula named Hermy and some Great African land snails. But I’d love to add a Mexican red knee tarantula, lavender python, and bearded dragon to the family.

Our fish don’t want to stay still for photos πŸ˜‰

In my spare time I love to read and have a wide range of books on my bookshelves – yes, plural – from various genres including horror, fantasy and sci-fi. My favourite author is Stephen King and I love the Lord of the Rings. I also enjoy watching films and TV shows, and playing computer games – I guess you can say I’m a geek… If that wasn’t obvious already. πŸ˜‰

Random things about me

  • I have dyscalculia.
  • I’m allergic to dairy, metal (primarily nickel or nickel-plated metals), tomatoes and some kinds of plant life.
  • I collect Buffy and Angel memorabilia and pressed pennies.
  • I go to film conventions and collect autographs
  • I have 6 piercings and a tattoo on my lower back.
  • I was hit in my left eye by a golf club, bursting two blood vessels. As a result, I’m short-sighted and wear glasses.
  • My favourite colour is purple.
  • My favourite fragrance is lavender.
  • My favourite flowers are roses and lilies.
  • My favourite gemstone is Rose Quartz.
  • I love animals and donate every month to the Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust.
  • My favourite animals are penguins.
  • My favourite Disney character is Eeyore
  • My favourite book as a child was The Very Hungry Caterpillar
  • My favourite painting is Van Gogh’s β€œThe Starry Night”.
  • I was born on May 7th 1988, which was a Saturday.
  • Halloween is my favourite holiday and Autumn is my favourite season. πŸ‚πŸπŸŽƒ
  • I love being outdoors – I like exploring new places in my home town and surrounding village.
  • I am interested in Archaeology and Paleontology.
  • I love VW campervans and hope to own one someday.

Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust

Knitted campervan cushions my mum got me

I work in customer service where my focus is logistics and maintaining the companies website. I’ve also taken on freelance projects, such as creating/designing promotional materials for small businesses and web design for small businesses and do some volunteer work.

Please get in touch if you would like to work with me, I accept freelance work, brand collaborations and products for review.


Chimmyville is hosted By 1clickwebsite